I can't install it on Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit

#1KillerJuan77Posted 3/12/2010 1:11:50 PM

I just got the game (11 bucks with box, manuals, and the big box) but everytime I try to install it it says to me that "This product can't be installed on Windows NT due to a DirectX 6.1 limitation" even if I choose Windows 2000/95/98 compatibility mode, what can I do?

#2spartan911Posted 3/13/2010 4:49:55 AM
Havenīt heard of this problem before, but I ran it through Google and found this:

Run SETUP.EXE from the CD-ROM with the parameter "-lgntforce".
To do so, select "Run" from your start menu, enter "x:\setup.exe -lgntforce", where "x" is the letter that your CD-ROM drive uses.

Hope that helps.

---
Tea and Biscuits?!
#32bitSmOkEyPosted 3/25/2010 10:40:34 AM

Where did you get it? I would love to have a physical copy of this game. I just started playing this for the first time ever a couple of days ago (I tried in the past but never could get it to work) and all I can say is this game leaves me speechless. I like how it dooks all over Bioshock even though it came out over 10 years before it. Well, honestly it dooks all over pretty much every single player game ever made so thats not entirely fair to Irrational Games. I know this was the golden age for gaming but wtf man, such unrivaled creativity.

TC, if you do get it to work make sure you install all of the high res model and texture mods, it makes a huge difference.

#4Lawman_316Posted 4/11/2010 3:59:33 PM
Is it really THAT good? I just bought it yesterday for a dollar at a flea market. Haven't fired it up yet, but I'll get to it eventually.

There're mods to update the graphics? Me likey, though I think I'll play it as it was originally intended first.
---
"theres too many abbreviations these days, i need a code book to read the internet" - rabsta
#5spartan911Posted 4/12/2010 1:27:09 AM