Replaying this game again after years and a couple of questions.

#1Zeldafan59Posted 6/30/2013 5:48:08 PM
Hello, I started playing this game a couple weeks ago. I played it 2 or 3 times when it first came out and loved it. This time though, I am taking more time and finding little extras in the storyline I missed the first time out. I especially love the set up for stats and point distribution in this game. The battles were, and are fun this go around too. Here are my questions (I have the Prima guide and the excellent FAQ from this site printed and use them all the time but still need little help please).

1.Does the Ranger skill when increased, mean you will find more naturally occurring herbs out and about while you're walking? Or, does it mean that you will find more spice, herb, gemstone given to you as the reward for battles? I'm leaning towards the latter. I have Abrecan at a level 7 Ranger (you know how he always ends up with gobs of exp. points you have to find some place for) and I don't have a sense of more Herbs showing in the Trek Mode at this point.

2. Does the Loremaster skill serve much purpose other than for auxiliary points you've nowhere to place? Don't get me wrong, this time I discovered with my one character (either Rheda or Abrecan) as a level 3 Loremaster very interesting reading at the Port Saiid houses. In fact, I might increase it if it does actually "create" more backdrop story. I always assumed like those life gems aka sapphire gems that this skill was there but not one which you could influence even through leveling. Hope that makes sense.