Happy 15th anniversary Diddy Kong Racing!

#1Thenumber1yoshiPosted 11/27/2012 1:18:59 PM
Wow to think this many years since one of Nintendo and Rare's earliest beginnings on the N64, and Rare's unique spin on the racing genre, sure some people consider it a Mario Kart clone, but how many of these racing games were there that had an actual Adventure mode with a story, hub, collectables, and despite this game's lighthearted feel, gave many a kids a huge pain in the ass to accomplish certain things in the game,I'm looking at you T.T., you were such a B**CH to unlock that I only accomplished it after I graduated from High School in the Wii era (or sometime around when my High School years were winding down, I still have my N64 and I'm proud of it), and I started playing this game around the time the first Banjo-Kazooie was out so it took me that many years to unlock everything except Adventure 2 mode. Not to mention the Silver Coin Challenges were really hard.

Then another reason the game might not have been so lighthearted was it's scary moments, but hey be proud, it only means you were a true kid of the 90s and avid fan of the great partnership Nintendo and Rare had in the past if Wizpig, with his laughing, the creepy cutscene with his head on the mountain coming alive, and his two boss races scared the ABSOLUTE CRAP out of you! Not to mention you should know you weren't alone in having a hard time with beating the first Wizpig race as a kid, we did too.