Having problems with Battle of Chang Ban

#1lordnikonPosted 7/23/2008 6:33:46 AM

So I just started playing Dynasty Warriors and wanted to start off playing 2, so that I can get a better perspective on how the series evolved. I am having a ton of trouble with the Battle of Chang Ban.

The Character I am using is Zhao Yun, and I am a part of Liu Bei's forces, so I am outnumbered 4:1.

I have played this battle almost 50 times in the last 2 days and cannot beat it. I don't know what I am doing wrong. Liu Bei keeps running out into the middle of nowhere and the forces sit back doing nothing while hordes of the enemy surround myself and Liu Bei. I try to take out as many Guard Captains to get more Defense boosts. I have tried to approad this battle from so many angles and I keep dieing in the heat of battle over and over and over again.

Guides say that its possible to take out the 2 first liutenants right away. However when I try to do this I die rather quickly, being overwhelmed by the barrage of blows.

Does anyone have any advice? The first 3 battles I completed no problem. So I have to be doing something wrong here. Is it possible to level up your characters stats in Free Mode?

Any advice on the Battle of Chang Ban as Liu Bei would be very helpful.

#2Exar KunPosted 7/23/2008 10:48:04 AM
You can indeed level up your stats in Free Mode. Not a bad idea if you're having trouble.
---
Holder of the Nine Dignities of Shuism
#3PrettyBoyPosted 7/24/2008 5:57:20 AM
Man, if I hadn't just put all my PS2 games in a moving box, I'd load it up and refresh myself about that stage...all I remember is that stupid +10,000 point baby and Xiahou En dropping the sword with a huge attack boost (either 8 or 10).

If you're having problems taking on 2 generic's then you probably want to go back to an early stage and boost your stats more. The fastest way to do this is also learning to increase your combos on generals and gate captains. There are two very easy to learn ways of doing this: