I'm a bit ashamed that I've never played this til now

#1KurtKokaine4Posted 5/17/2011 8:33:04 AM
I'm completely new to the whole Tomb Raider franchise. I've recently discovered a retro store that sells old games, and I saw this and TR 2, so I bought them immediately (for extremely cheap by the way).

I started up a game last night, and what can I say. This really is a gem of a fun game. Dated for sure, but I'm old school, so I can appreciate the graphics. One thing I love though is the seemingly complicated jumping mechanics. It threw me off at first, but after some practice, it really is fun jumping from platform to rocky platform. I really feel like a tomb raider.

It also took me a while to get used to combat. I was stoked to find out I had infinite ammo and Lara auto-locks (which seems key to this type of game). The wolves owned me at first, but then I got used to jumping all over the place and shooting in the air. It's still a bit disorienting though, but enjoyable nonetheless. But damn was I horrified when I saw this huge mother f******* T-Rex start charging at me. That part about freaked me out a bit. Sadly, after dying a few times, I realized he really isn't that difficult to dodge, just don't let him trap you in a corner. Although when I realized you can easily kill him from inside the cave, I reloaded my file and killed him that way with no damage.

So yeah, I'm up to the Tomb of Q-whats-his-face. Tried to finish that last night, but got a bit drunk and needed to go to bed. Hopefully I'll have more time to play this weekend. Awesome, Awesome game!!
#2joe042293Posted 5/17/2011 1:11:20 PM
Great to see you're getting into it. Tomb of Qualopec is pretty good, but wait till you get to the next level: St. Francis' Folly is excellent.
---
One of the Dedicated 500 - #215, #347
-- 10th person to sign up --
#3DoughBoy319Posted 5/17/2011 7:25:11 PM
SPOILERS: