Getting ripped off working freelance, what to do?

#1JigawatyPosted 5/2/2012 4:03:09 PM
Wonder if you guys know anything about business and how it's managed in regards to developers.

So I'm currently a freelancer developer while I am looking for a full time job. I've had this job for just three months and I noticed, the amounts I get paid for work are seriously out of whack. It all has to do with the fact that I do not set the rates (which is uncommon for freelance), my employer does. Just to be clear I live in the US.

You see, they usually GREATLY underestimate the time needed to get a project done, so I get paid according to that estimation. And I cannot bargain or argue over the budget. For example my last project took me 14 hours to complete, before I started my boss's estimate to the client was 8 hours and they billed for that. That is less that 60% of my work actually being paid for. So sometimes the pay is almost right for the market value and in extreme cases, the hourly rate comes down to less than minimum wage (I spend triple the time that my boss thought would get the job done). Their excuse is that I need to work faster. WTF... It doesn't matter if they felt I was working too slowly, a developer should not get paid that little.

I do not know how I should really hammer it into him that they need to take the typical market value for a developer such as myself into consideration. I want to negotiate a fair salary that does not rip them apart either because this is the only job I have. How do I start taking control over the payment situation?
---
"Next person who says 'porkulus package' is getting banned." -Zircon
#2OrangeWizardPosted 5/2/2012 4:13:27 PM
How do I start taking control over the payment situation?

Start negotiating or quit.
---
"this game is about reality. ... when you fire a gun you are not like "what is this am i shooting sausages?""
-General_Dong on Black Ops
#3Skel1Posted 5/2/2012 4:18:13 PM