A job for Intermediate programmer?

#1GreenTreeClubPosted 6/19/2014 10:39:59 AMmessage detail
I'm not an expert programmer, but I understand stuff up to the intermediate level like Objects. Interfaces, Abstract classes, inheritance, polymorphism, and such things. But I never went any deeper since I was taking a Programming 2 class, acing the assignments, but failed the midterm so I had to drop, which meant I never got a chance to go to Programming 3 and I am graduating in a few months.

So my question is, what type of job will suit me in programming, and two, what are some important subjects to cover that I may have missed?
#2kanatoPosted 6/20/2014 11:02:50 AMmessage detail
Someone who's at an "expert" level in an undergraduate degree would qualify for an entry level position in industry. It sounds like you're below that, so you should be looking at internships.

Have you studied data structures?
---
Cross platform C# game development
http://www.agatelib.org/
#3MutantJohnPosted 6/20/2014 11:25:43 AMmessage detail
Well, internships are out of the question now if you're graduating.

Your best bet is to probably find a project to work on and see it to completion. Make sure it's relatively complex (like big-boy complex) and that it emphasizes skills the industry you want to work in desires.
---
"But I am still alive, in love and wide-eyed in my time, not a mummy shrinking in its cloths." - Why?
#4GreenTreeClub(Topic Creator)Posted 6/20/2014 11:31:57 AMmessage detail
Have not studied data structures.

As for internships, I've heard they are possible even after graduation.
#5MutantJohnPosted 6/20/2014 11:41:26 AMmessage detail
GreenTreeClub posted...
Have not studied data structures.

As for internships, I've heard they are possible even after graduation.