This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Cleric/Thief, races, etc.

#1mikel123456Posted 6/20/2012 1:49:52 PM(edited)
I've recently become nostalgic for BG1, so I'm starting a run through the entire trilogy. I've decided on a Cleric/Thief as I've never done it before and it sounds interesting.

Currently debating between:

Half-orc Cleric/Thief
Gnome Cleric/Thief
Assassin(26)-->Cleric(27) dual
Lathander(18)-->Thief(36) dual

The Half-orc has nicer starting stats, but those are pretty irrelevant for a cleric in the long-term, as 25 STR is quite easy to manage.

The gnome gets a few nice saving throw bonuses from high constitution (but no HP bonus beyond 16 CON for these classes), and those would be incredibly valuable in BG1. I don't think the -1 WIS really impacts anything significant. Also some minor bonuses to thieving skills based on race, which is nice.

The Assassin dual obviously gets a much more powerful backstab, but I'm not sure how necessary that is. Also misses out on a big portion of traps, as I'd only get 3 HLAs before dualling. I'd likely pick Use Any Item, Assassinate, and one Time Trap. And of course, massive downtime seems rough, especially with plans for a small party in BG 2.

The Lathander dual is interesting because I get a reasonably-lengthed increase in attacks-per-round from Boon of Lathander, plus the full Draw Upon Holy Might that I would need to to go from 19 STR to 25. I would also get nearly the full complement of thief HLAs. The down side is I wouldn't get that much out of the spellcasting powers of the Cleric (Holy Smite, the high-level abilities), which is unfortunate because with the thief's Use Any Item, I could use Robe of Vecna and speed up some of those unusably-slow cleric spells.

Any opinions on which is best?
#2fig314Posted 6/20/2012 6:14:45 PM