This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Desire for Resolution

#1DreamwaIkerPosted 4/17/2013 5:10:29 AM
As a math student, I like that problems have solutions. That a problem can be solved and if everyone studies enough, they can all come to understand it. Sure, there are some axioms in math, but you can still say that everyone involved came to understand why "Given the axioms, ___ is true."

In religious discussion, I yearn to have the same kind of resolution, but it just doesn't work out that way. You can talk back and forth with atheists and religious people and other religious people for years and it's possible that none of them will budge significantly. One guy will go miles down his religious understanding and another guy will go miles down his understanding of why that religion is false, and they both see themselves as understanding more. Confirmation bias, I know. And probably some other psychological things and bias towards having certain experiences as well.

But none of that changes that I desire resolution, be it me becoming Christian or any of my Christian friends becoming atheists.
---
Sign-Ups for The Epic Struggle forum game (72/100 slots filled so far):
http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/400-current-events/65860951
#2Hustle KongPosted 4/17/2013 5:21:17 AM
It seems unwise to think religion can be like mathematics. Math is already math.
---
Shooting Game never die.
It prays that the clover of luck be always in your mind.
#3DreamwaIker(Topic Creator)Posted 4/17/2013 5:24:52 AM
I want it to be.

Didn't say I think it can be.
---
Sign-Ups for The Epic Struggle forum game (72/100 slots filled so far):
#4mercuryinkPosted 4/17/2013 5:33:35 AM
Uh... there's numerology?
---
Some people are proof that G-d exists; evolution would have prevented them.
New Jersey Devils -- Stanley Cup Champions -- 1995-2000-2003
#5chareyPosted 4/17/2013 8:42:28 AM
"Given the axioms, ___ is true."