This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Wolf Blitzer's Bible Challenge #1: The 10 Commandments

#11Polish_CrusaderPosted 4/22/2013 12:20:02 PM
wolf_blitzer85 posted...
Exodus 20:13 “You shall not murder."

1. Does this mean you are going to Hell?

2. What should you have done, since God put you in that situation?

3. Does this mean that the other guy, who did not murder you, is not going to Hell?

1.)Defending your life is not murder. The commandment is in reference to murder.

2.)Exactly what you said, try to talk the guy out of it, if he doesnt want to, then force him to stop it, if death has to be reached then thats that.

3.)That depends on his relationship with God. Good people do make mistakes. God forgives anybody for everything, even murder, genocide, etc. They just have to play by his rules to get the forgiveness.
#12SilviiroPosted 4/22/2013 1:27:26 PM
1. This is pretty clearly not murder.
2. Personally, as a trained martial artist I would have attempted to put him in enough pain that he cannot fight back without causing severe damage, but I would not recommend anyone else try the same. In fact if he was trying to punch me beforehand I would have already taken care of him before he could get a gun out.
3. I do not decide or know who will or will not go to any sort of Hell.
---
"I have seen everything that is done under the sun, and behold, all is vanity and a striving after wind." -- Ecclesiastes 1:14
#13SuibomPosted 4/22/2013 4:12:48 PM
3. Does this mean that the other guy, who did not murder you, is not going to Hell?

I'm going to answer twice; once strictly sticking to the hypothetical, and once for how I probably would have responded.

Hypothetical
1. No. Wasn't murder. I was defending myself and my girlfriend from an aggressor who has escalated the conflict to life-endangering levels.

2. See below.

3. I don't know. He probably is.. He doesn't sound much like a Christian.

For realz