This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

American Christianity makes it hard for me to be a practicing christian (WoT)

#1Chicken InspectorPosted 7/29/2013 5:30:09 PM
I'm a lutheran, and I live in the midwest (iowa to be exact)

Anyways, I've been drifting between churches for a few years after my main church just got to frustrating for me to go to (personality clash with my pastor, large winded sermons full of big academic words that were hard to follow, let alone understand, and annoyances with how services were run and all that)

So I've been attending other churches, from Lutheran churches to non-denominational ones for the last year or so (the last one I was at was a congregational church) and they have all been less than positive experiences for me. They all seem to be (or drifting in this direction) of touchy feely, feel-good, campy worship and going with this personal savior shtick. Very born-again, evangelical in nature. Yah know, when people in the pews get up and start waving their hands in the hair in an overly pasionate manner, wiggling their fingers, with an occasionaly cat call such as AH-MEN)

Services had very campy, contemporary songs which were all fluff and no substance. No traditional hymns that I remember from my past experiences. No organs, no hymns by martin luther..hell...anything written pre-1980 was non existant.

I even TRIED to be a camp counselor at a church camp a few summers ago, but it was the same thing. Contemporary christian worship with lots of touching, letting out ones feelings, and people acting giddy like they were on drugs. Made me feel very uncomfortable..almost like it was a nut cult rather than a 2000+ year old religion.