This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Leveling as Prot - Getting harrassed in random dungeons.

#1NerdralusPosted 7/14/2013 10:32:44 AM
When I first started my warrior I was fury, but I switched to prot for leveling, I'm leveling as Prot because the complete awesomeness of this Shield bash I practically one shot mobs with it.

Anyways I hit 15 and queued for random dungeons I wanted to get get some better gear than my greens. I'm leveling as prot due to how fast I kill stuff, but I don't want to tank. So I queued DPS. So I get a deadmines and immediately some guy in there harasses me from the start and repeatedly telling me I need to equip a two hander.

I tried to explain to him I'm prot and a 2hander would kill my damage and he started mocking me and saying I shouldn't be prot. I'd do more damage as a 2 hand wielder..

Should i not be queuing for dungeons then? Can I expect this throughout my leveling experience? I'm brand new to Warrior class but i'm killing stuff so fast with it because of that move out and about questing. I've had a few people tell I should level as Prot and my killing speed has drastically increased out questing in this spec.
#2KokeiiPosted 7/14/2013 10:36:58 AM
It's going to happen constantly if you're DPSing in instances as prot. It will also probably be less efficient later on, because a good deal of prot's (and other tank's) damage comes from vengeance, which, if you aren't actually tanking and getting hit, you won't build up. Once you hit level 30 just buy dual spec for like 10g and get a DPS spec for dungeons.
#3ShadowEdgeXPosted 7/14/2013 10:46:14 AM
Just tank, you're going to get made fun of and constantly kicked if you try and dps as prot because you'll always be pulling threat from the real tank.
---
Proud to have formerly lived in the only country in the world whose National Sport has a sequel
#4AnaTheCatPosted 7/14/2013 10:48:45 AM