This is a split board - You can return to the Split List for other boards.

Trying to understand the lore of WoW. Should I play Warcraft 3? Warcraft 1/2?

#1NordiniPosted 6/17/2014 3:52:22 PM
I'm new to WoW.
My roommate has Warcraft 3+expansions and I was thinking of playing it because I want to learn about the lore behind things in WoW.

Will Warcraft 3 give me a better understanding?
Should I play Warcraft 1 and 2 to understand Warcraft 3?
---
Gentlemen understand that embezzlement, insider trading, tax fraud, and similar activities are not crimes. Crimes are committed by poor people and involve guns.
#2Ness0123456789Posted 6/17/2014 3:57:15 PM(edited)
I'd skip the first two Warcraft games, honestly.

Most of what happened in WC1 and 2 aren't referenced in WoW or WC3. However WC3 plays a very vital role in the over all story of WoW, and is also the most fun to play of the trilogy as well.

I'd actually just read the novelizations of Wacraft 2 and it's expansion, and wait for the movie for WC1.
---
Each person might see a rose with a different shade of red, but the fact that we can all agree on is beauty -- that is a miracle.
-Michea, FFXI
#3Kanus_oq_SerunaPosted 6/17/2014 4:12:50 PM
You'll get the gist of WC2 from the novels, and the background of the rest from the other novels. While you are at it, Arthas gives some background to the human/undead campaigns of WC3, though playing WC3 is better.
---
For topical discussions of the Source Mod remake of Half Life: http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/683833-black-mesa
#4OgurisamaPosted 6/17/2014 4:14:23 PM
Basically all you need to know about 1st and 2nd war you can read up online.

first war the old horde defeated Stormwind, the second war horde lost, and tye alliance put them in interment camps
---
http://cdn-android.apptap.com/img/870/mobi.colortrilogy.bitlink/267135850.png
https://i.chzbgr.com/completestore/12/10/5/uv4r7nGyrE6ylt2lHGWpiQ2.gif
#5Lucius43Posted 6/17/2014 4:45:59 PM