Shadow of Chernobyl vs. Call of Pripyat

#1IronZeppelin24Posted 5/23/2010 7:01:55 PM

Im new to STALKER game but ive always wanted to play one and im finally gonna get around to buying one but which one is better? They are both the same price where im gonna buy it so price isnt an issue. Any suggestions?

#2TacticalPumaPosted 5/23/2010 8:25:48 PM
Well, Call of Pripyat is better as a game, but SoC is more stalker-ish.
If I was you, I'd just get both. And Clear Sky as well.
#3EnviroBdamnedPosted 5/23/2010 11:14:45 PM
I think SoC is the most difficult one survival wise.
CS is the more difficult gun fight wise.
I haven't gotten to pripyat yet, i'm taking a stalker break.
---
Wow that was more intense than that time i forgot how to sit down...
DOWN WITH STEAM! Abolish all idiotic DRM schemes...
#4metacriticalPosted 5/24/2010 4:35:05 AM
SoC has more replayability (i could play that game for eternity), CoP is shorter but better (only has 2-3 replays before you've done literally everything to be done). CS is really long and fun, but really needs to be fully patched, as do all games of course, but CS especially. so for me, i'd get SoC every time, but CoP for a fun, more polished but shorter game. SoC with the in-game armour and gun modifications that featured in CoP would be the best game ever made. here's hoping for STALKER 2 :)
#5TacticalPumaPosted 5/24/2010 4:37:40 AM
Metacritical, I completely agree with everything you just said.
#6IronZeppelin24(Topic Creator)Posted 5/24/2010 12:57:39 PM

Thanks for the input, im going to go ahead and get SoC then work my way up and get CS and CoP. I can't wait these games look so fun and acually difficult unlike most shooters out now. Also are there any mods or patches that I should look into for SoC?

#7RaokPosted 5/24/2010 4:15:03 PM
Oh god yes there's a lot of mods to check out for SoC. In my opinion, SoC is the best in terms of the number of awesome mods out for it.