Just beat this again

#1VortexSpinPosted 8/7/2010 2:18:34 AM
My wife was gone to her sister's so I had the place to myself. Thought about whether to play games or something else; finally remembered Beyond Oasis and decided to play through it So at about 1:30 AM I started playing and just finished about fifteen minutes ago. Total gametime was 2:36 minutes, rank 15, Samurai,. 37/60 jewels. About 498 kills, 1 death.

Damn, it's been a LONG time since I played this good old game. Not nearly as good as I used to be - my fastest time is an hour shorter, and I've of course gotten Super Hero many times, with 100% completion right down to Elixirs...

But it sure did feel good to play Beyond Oasis. Wish we could have gotten another game in the series - looks like that will never happen; Ancient can barely get enough people together to put out a tower defense game on XBLA (Mammotte Knight).. And you know what's crazy? I don't even have the tiniest urge to play Legend of Oasis at all. I just never jived with that game...the digitized claymation sprites turned me off, and there was too much crap and too many Spirits - so many combinations, and I didn't like the easier combat system either.

I don't know, maybe it's just because I played this game first.

I should throw in Landstalker some time - a ridiculously longer game, but I played it around the same time as this and it'd be fun to go through. Same with Crusader of Centy and Light Crusader... Although Centy is just sort of too piecemeal to really be fanatical about, and Light Crusader is just soulless despite some nice special effects and ideas. What a lonely game!

Most of all I just wish there was more Oasis to play. I wish the first game was longer, I wish there were some time attack or boss rush or scoring modes. I wish there was just something to keep me in that gorgeous world a bit longer. I wish more people knew about the game and had a chance to enjoy it.

You still out there, Get Smart?