Classes in Wizardry 5

#1OneCrazyFellowPosted 10/15/2010 7:38:47 AM
You know I've always wondered about the classes in Wiz 5. I've been playing this game since perhaps 1994 (or whatever, I dont remember the release year) and I never had the patience to make some real tests. Nobody seems to really know for sure, or I havent read the right discussions.

Here's a couple things you guys might know:

1- Does the Thief have more chances to disarm a trap than a Ninja does? (for that matter, does the ninja even know how to disarm?)

2- Does the Fighter have an advantage over the Samurai or Lord? More HP per level, maybe.

3- Is the Ninja really better off wearing no armor? What about weapons? (yeah I rarely used that class)

I really want the Fighter and Thief to have some use, because I dont like having two of a same class. But I dont want to gimp my team, either.
#2OneCrazyFellow(Topic Creator)Posted 10/19/2010 9:29:38 AM
Two more questions come to mind:

4- What range does the Ninja have when using fists? (probably Close but I can hope for Short)

5- When changing class, does the experience necessary to get to level 2, 3 etc begins from scratch? So if I turn a lvl 8 Priest into a Lord, will he level up like crazy or will it take the amount required to get a Lord from lvl 8 to lvl 9?
#3OneCrazyFellow(Topic Creator)Posted 10/22/2010 8:33:59 AM
Anyway, here's my party:

Fighter
Fighter
Thief
Wizard
Cleric
Mage

Which is in time going to turn into:

Fighter
Lord
Samurai
Ninja
Thief
Wizard

But so far, although I am having no difficulties, I wish I had more melee power. Having three spellcasters is underpowering, as melee is always more reliable in this game (and most other RPGs, for that matter). At least in the beginning. So I'm really eager for my Mage and Cleric to turn into Samurai and Lord!
#4atmasabrPosted 10/27/2010 10:40:52 PM