If I buy a 20 dollar steam or amazon gift card, I can get this game right?

#1bronze4v4proPosted 11/16/2012 10:58:06 AM
I'm new to buying downloadable games online. If I get a 20 dollar gift card for amazon or steam, and torchlight 2 only costs 19.99, then I can buy this game with this 20 dollar gift card, right? Is there a sales tax when using gift cards?

I would prefer to get this game off of amazon and not steam because I heard you have to log on to steam online to play games on your steam profile, but you can log off after you log on. I don't want to do that. I like playing offline without ever having to play online.

Also 2 other questions:

1. How big are the patches? I have a usage limit so I cannot download much, but I can go to a family member's house and dl patches there, but I don't want to do it too often. How many more patches could there be for this game in the near future and how big could they be? If patches are only a couple hundred mb once every month, then that is fine, but if there are 1gb patches every couple weeks then I probably won't get this game.

2. Can you bring your character from offline play and bring to online and vice versa?
#2ragnarokiusPosted 11/16/2012 11:29:59 AM
Virtual sales tax depends on where you live. I'd just google it specifically.

I dunno about the patches.

Yes, you can play single player and multiplayer interchangeably on one character.
---
http://tinyurl.com/8pnek9m
#3vlado_ePosted 11/16/2012 12:13:35 PM
bronze4v4pro posted...
I'm new to buying downloadable games online. If I get a 20 dollar gift card for amazon or steam, and torchlight 2 only costs 19.99, then I can buy this game with this 20 dollar gift card, right? Is there a sales tax when using gift cards?

Usually, no. There may be exceptions I'm not aware of, though.