Ending? *massive spoilers*

#1ValharielPosted 8/28/2010 1:56:49 PM
I've posted this thread over at VNDB but figure I'll post here too....might as well spread it around. lol

I just finished Remember 11 using the patch build from August 22 posted on the discussion board for the game at TLWiki and I have to say, stellar job guys. Excellent job on the translation and the dialogue. I'm very impressed with the quality of your work and it's not even finished yet! I'm afraid I couldn't wait for the finished build since I've been sitting on my hands for the past six months waiting to play this thing. lol....regardless though, like many other fans, I was somewhat dissatisfied with the ending. There were many questions that were left unanswered, I'm thinking due to KID's failure to wrap the game up the way they wanted. I appreciated how they tacked on some resolution in Satoru's epilogue but it just raised a new question about Satoru's true identity, not to mention some lingering problems from earlier. There's a lot to be addressed with this game so I won't try to condense it down but I will go through things one paragraph at a time, since the game gets pretty dicey.

I've pretty much figured out that he and Enomoto are using each other's names, judging from the "Yukidoh's Failed Plan" ending, but I'm still left with a lot of "how"s and "why"s. Here's what I think is going on...so this private company is developing quantum teleportation technology and decides to select three separate sites in order to test its application. They pick Mount Akabara, Aosagi Island, and a small village in central Japan. The selection of these locations seems arbitrary though....Aosagi Island I can understand since it is being used to house people with psychological problems, so the effect of such a transfer on them would be scientifically interesting. But what about the other two choices? Is there any particular reason why they were selected, and not somewhere else?