My first character build (Witch, AoE, Crit, Ice)

• Topic Archived
  1. Boards
  2. Path of Exile
  3. My first character build (Witch, AoE, Crit, Ice)
2 years ago#1
http://tinyurl.com/oyut6jn

does this work?

I basically want to run a mage that has huge AoE potential, focusing mostly on ice but a little bit of fire too (Fire Storm probably)

Ice Spear will be my skill of choice for sniping single targets

I'll mostly be playing with a couple friends so I want to be able to sit in the back and unload on minions

any tips and stuff? TY in advance!

PS - why do people give a '96 points used' and a '120 points used' for some of these topics? Is it hard to get all 120 passive skill points? I am completely new to this game and just started a few days ago
---
"When you want to be successful as bad as you want to breathe, then you'll be successful!"
2 years ago#2
You don't use all points because it takes too long, and maybe even impossible depending on some choices you make.

60-80 points is more practical. It's too likely that halfway through, you'll start another new character to try some other build.

You also traveled quite far and skipped a group of ice nodes pretty near your starting point.
---
ns
2 years ago#3
http://tinyurl.com/jwgy5l6 (Made a quick edit, forgot I had a couple of things I was just eyballing in there to find.) Basically you need to kill about 15 points I'd say to be about where I am in level from here, so you just take what you have and subtract what you don't need. As my damage is fine I took a few more HP nodes earlier.

Is the build I'm going with my Freezing Pulse/Faster Projectiles/Lesser Multiple Projectiles/Cold Damage/Cold Pen/Blank - (Item rarity for farming, I dunno) as well as having firestorm and a few other decent spells for alternate forms of damage.