Should I just end the series at RE5?

#1GangrenousKhanPosted 9/18/2013 8:32:09 PM
When I pick games to play from videogame franchises, I try to pick the very best, while neglecting to play other games in the franchise because of a loss of quality that franchises seem to suffer after awhile. There have been exceptions to this of course (MGS).

I am fairly new to the Resident evil franchise. I downloaded and watched/played all of the Resident evil movies and the first 2 video games (RE1 and RE2) over the past week. My plan is to round the series off with RE 1, 2, 3, 4, and 5. I am most likely not going to play 6, since, according to the general consensus, it is a complete mess, which contrasts with the other games because they got very good reviews. Not only that, but I heard that the primary story line started with RE1 ended in 5. So 6 sounds like it is some kind of addendum.

Without giving away any spoilers, can anyone tell me if I will be able to get a full quality story with RE 5 and call it a day?
---
"He raged at the world, at his family, at his life. But mostly he just raged." - Raging Goblin flavor text, Magic the Gathering Card
#2Syn_VengeancePosted 9/18/2013 9:09:45 PM
play 6 and judge for yourself is all im gonna say
---
This is war, Survival is your responsibility.
#3CPU-ZPosted 9/18/2013 11:13:55 PM
Pretty much. The main story was wrapped up in RE5. If you're in it for the story, then I recommend doing RE5 and completely skip RE6.
---
http://www.youtube.com/user/PsychicAuraMaster
Visit my channel for all Mercs 3D related info. I'll be updating constantly.
#4ArchiantagonistPosted 9/19/2013 4:13:37 AM
Syn_Vengeance posted...
play 6 and judge for yourself is all im gonna say

---
--------------------x_0--------------------
#5mike212022Posted 9/19/2013 6:46:23 AM
You should play Remake on GC or Wii if you can, it's great!

Play in this order:

1.Remake
2.RE 2
3.RE 3
4. RE: Code Veronica
5. RE 4
6. RE 5
7. RE 6

Don't forget Code veronica its awesome.