A few questions about hosting a server.

#1mutation10101Posted 5/2/2012 7:24:46 AM
If anyone would be so kind as to answer a few questions about hosting a server, that would be great.

1) Could a computer in around the $600 price range be good enough to host a server for maybe 6-8 people well enough to not have lag?
*I say could, because I'm not computer savvy, so listing off parts is like talking German to me.

2) How much does it usually cost to host a server for 6-8 people?

3) Provided the computer could handle it, and to host a server isn't that much money to do so... How hard is it to get some plug-ins and mods for the server and to maintain them? Again, I'm not tech savvy, so go easy on the explanation.

Thanks for your time in answering.
---
Monster Hunter Tri Name/ID
Name - Zayonism ID - 795FGM
#2MegeasPosted 5/2/2012 10:25:07 AM
1) Well it always depends on both the specs of the computer and also if your going to be using this computer as both the server and a client. basically when you have a server running off this computer are you going to be playing minecraft on this computer also? Or do you have another computer that you will be using to play Minecraft and connect to this computer?

If you plan on using this for both Minecraft and the Server then no. computers in the $500-$600 tend to be that cheap because they don't use dedicated graphics cards. Even just playing Minecraft single player would not be fun because Integrated Graphics are just a big drop from a dedicated card.

Now if you plan on using it JUST for a server then you can get away with a cheap computer. a server won't need to use a graphics card and focuses more on RAM. get a half decent CPU and nice bit of RAM and you should be able your friends.