Can't mine this hard dark stone?

#1wolfy42Posted 10/13/2010 1:39:57 AM
Hi everyone I'm new to Minecraft and havn't read FAQ's etc because I dont' want to ruin things.

I made a deap mine in a mountain near where I started, it takes over a minute to go from the top to the bottom of my stairway. At the bottom now though I keep hitting these dark stones (looks like coal but a bit darker) that I can't seem to mine even with my iron pickaxes. I have yet to find any diamonds etc (perhaps they are diamond stone?) so maybe that is what I need.....but can anyone give me a heads up on how to keep mining down?

Is there just a limit to how far you can go down? I had to avoid lava a few times on my way down (just filled in the hole quickly if I found lava which seemed to work) and I've dug out plenty of iron, gold, red stone, flint and coal on the way down (not to mention a ton of normal stones which I've made into a about 500 stars or so to make travel from the top to bottom very easy)

I'm enjoying digging down as far as I can and hate that I seem to be unable to go any further down. I guess I could epand at this depth and make a huge cavern etc and mine away at the sides but thats not as fun as trying to tunnel to china.

So anyway I can keep mining down?

Thanks
---
No duckies, just drowning.
#2Amidamaru_Posted 10/13/2010 1:42:14 AM
If they are grey with dark-grey or black lines, then it's bedrock. Nothing can go through that. If you find a hole in the bedrock, though, DON'T jump in. You'll end up in the void. Nothing good comes from that.
---
Signature?
#3bong2004Posted 10/13/2010 1:45:44 AM
Bedrock, it limits how far you can go down. Sometimes the placement of bedrock can be buggy and you get holes, which look a light blue. This is the Void, if you fall down you die in it and lose all your stuff. So if you're around bedrock, never mind the block youre standing on.

You shouldn't mine the block you stand on under normal circumstances too...
---