How do I reduce server lag?

#1Coopman1010Posted 12/13/2010 3:57:37 PM
I'm new to owning a server, but when three people or more are logged into my server, it just gets way too laggy and almost unplayable. I have enough RAM (4GB) that this shouldn't be happening, but some advice would be nice as to how I can go about fixing/reducing this because I just wanna play multiplayer with my friends without this annoying lag. >_>
---
I wonder what's for DINNER?
Xbox LIVE Gamertag: Coopster1030
#2ashphoenix77Posted 12/13/2010 3:59:08 PM
yah i gave up trying to host also. I think it has to do with people who go far to explore..if YOU the hoster doesnt explore the area far enough it causes severe lag. remeber things arent made until you explore them..so when a person not the server gos far enough...lagola
---
Xbox 360 :Avendosorra
34: Icon-- Account Created Monday, April 4, 2005 6:24 PM
#3MysticB121Posted 12/13/2010 4:18:52 PM
There are commands you can put into the java console to make the server perform better. Such as more ram...garbage cleanup or various other tricks.

It also may have to do with how much bandwidth the hoster has.
---
-MysticB
#4TedehsPosted 12/13/2010 4:19:38 PM
More internets.
---
:3
GT: Bot08
#5Coopman1010(Topic Creator)Posted 12/13/2010 4:30:23 PM
There are commands you can put into the java console to make the server perform better. Such as more ram...garbage cleanup or various other tricks.

Do you know any of these commands?
---
#6MysticB121Posted 12/13/2010 5:10:26 PM
I googled it real quick and pulled up the post. Minecraft Forums are down at the moment that i am typing this message though so you will have to wait a little bit.

http://www.minecraftforum.net/viewtopic.php?f=1012&t=68128

Its a little tricky to figure out what to do since they don't really explain it in detail. But basically you need run.bat filled with the java commands and drag and drop the "minecraft_server.exe" or "minecraft_server.jar" into the .bat.