How to not get lost easily?

#1Super_Jedi7Posted 5/24/2012 1:24:36 PM
I started playing single player and well its pretty fun. Problem is if I walk of in any direction for like 10 minutes I become so hopelessly lost I can never find my way back from where I started. What should I do different? any suggestions are great.
---
My Xbox live tag is zeric7x.
http://zeric7x.hubpages.com I write articles about video games on Hubpages.
#2DuckerdooPosted 5/24/2012 1:29:46 PM
Use a method called trailblazing. As you travel, alter the landscape a little, and use those as markers.
---
All your theories are correct.
Any contradictions are only to throw off suspicion.
#3TuxedoCyanPosted 5/24/2012 1:37:30 PM
If you practice migrating, you can eventually get used to it. I used to be really bad at getting lost too, but now I can jump onto any map, travel for a long time, and find my way back no problem. You just have to use the sun or clouds for a reference of which direction you are going. Or you could just use F3 to see your coordinates and just write down where your base is.
---
Like it or leave it. Hey, where are you going?
#4DuckerdooPosted 5/24/2012 1:39:52 PM
TuxedoCyan posted...
Or you could just use F3

I feel so stupid right about now.
---
All your theories are correct.
Any contradictions are only to throw off suspicion.
#5G1ANT_SQU1DPosted 5/24/2012 3:09:35 PM
not really. i dont use F3. i like the challenge of navigation
---
You should play the Crpg multiplayer mod for Mount and blade: Warband. its good
its good
#6Kastro187420Posted 5/24/2012 3:15:22 PM
What I like to do is lay torches down. If I'm in a large cave system, I try to lay all my torches down as I'm exploring on my left side... so if I need to get out, I just keep all the torches on my right to make sure I'm going the right way.

Otherwise, F3 is your best bet. That, or just get a Compass (4 Iron with Redstone in the middle). That makes a huge difference I've learned.
---