Going for an archer/mage build

#1Omegaforce725Posted 2/9/2013 2:53:16 PM
Hey all,

After not having played Skyrim in a while I am jumping back into it. I always love the feeling of re-discovering Skyrim after a hiatus from the game. Anyway, I have yet to do an archery/stealth build in Skyrim, but I love magic. So I am trying out something I have never done before: an Archer/Mage build.

Basically my major skills are going to be archery, stealth, conjuration, illusion and one handed. I will have a regular bow/arrows in my inventory, but I am planning on mostly using bound bow. For when I'm in larger-scale battles that require melee, I plan on dual wielding with axes/maces or something. I have never done dual-wield combat in Skyrim before. I'll also use light armor which I will eventually enchant to have more magic, buff archery/conjuration/illusion, and buff stamina.

Although I will utilize stealth and buff it with muffle/invisibility spells, I'm not planning on being a 100% stealth class. Just using it in situations where it would make sense like dungeon crawling, but not so much in Civil War fort battles.

Have you guys done similar builds before? If so, how have you played it, and what could you recommend? Would definitely appreciate some input!
---
Sig not changing until Bucs win Superbowl. Started 8/9/05
#2FreeMan5407Posted 2/9/2013 2:57:57 PM
everything can be viable & fun if you work on the strength and weaknesses on your character, i even play as a full mage only magic is fun , cause you can use different tactics
#3Evil_SandwichPosted 2/9/2013 2:58:08 PM
Omegaforce725 posted...
what could you recommend?

Remove Skyrim disk from Xbox.

Play Oblivion instead.

You can't cast magic and use a bow at the same time in Skyrim.
#4Decimator11Posted 2/9/2013 2:58:58 PM
http://theskyrimblog.ning.com/group/character-building/forum/topics/character-build-the-arcane-archer
#5Omegaforce725(Topic Creator)Posted 2/11/2013 8:09:16 AM
Evil_Sandwich posted...