Trying master, getting kicked up and down the mountain

#1StormthornPosted 3/16/2013 9:49:01 PM
I usually play the game with the difficulty turned way down. I want my weapons to feel sharp and my spells deadly. If I Icy Spear a guy in the face, I want him to die, regardless of what level of bandit or foresworn he is.

But I started playing on Adept with a mixed-bag character. He can do a lot, but doesnt have the perk focus to do anything great. Died once at level four when a Frost Troll just smacked me and I died. Havnt died since.

So then I went to Master (remembering all the complaints people made about it being too easy still) and rolled a new dude....Dear. God.
He died to the first enemy he fought: A stormcloak with a greathammer. The guy just up and killcam'd him.

Rolled a new character (I play my over-adept difficulty characters DiD) and he made it out but the first wolf he met gave him a disease that cut his physical damage by 25% and I didnt notice until after I cleared Embershard Mine. My steel sword was unto tinfoil and my armor was like paper mache.

He hasnt died yet but I cant see how anyone actually plays on this difficulty. The one strategy I think might work is to go from city to city and craft like a madman for hours until I can make some legendary dual-enchanted gear AND THEN do my first quest...but that isnt really my thing. I dont want to raise crafting skills artificially fast.

So now im stuck trying to figure out a way to survive that doesnt rely on exploits or craft skill grinding.
#2Dark_ApostatePosted 3/16/2013 9:58:12 PM
Make the best bow you can and fire from stealth. Use poisons as well as summoning assistance during fights. Never be afraid to retreat and regain stealth.
#3Stormthorn(Topic Creator)Posted 3/16/2013 10:02:50 PM
Dark_Apostate posted...
Make the best bow you can and fire from stealth. Use poisons as well as summoning assistance during fights. Never be afraid to retreat and regain stealth.