How do I get rid of my bounty?

#1Psychic_BucketPosted 12/14/2011 11:07:14 PM
I'm pretty new at this game and don't know a whole lot about it, and accidentally got a bounty on my head.

I was fighting of some bandits a little ways away from Whiterun, because I didn't want them to kill me. Used fire spells to kill them rather quickly. When I went back to Whiterun the guards immediately started shooting at me and rushing after me. Went inside the town and all the townsfolk went after me so I immediately went back outside and ran away from the guards. After that I fast-traveled over to Riverwood and immediately got the same treatment.

Is this sort of problem common in Skyrim? Can I somehow remove this bounty on my head or am I doomed to never being able to enter towns again? Any and all help is appreciated.
#2GeosapientPosted 12/14/2011 11:11:08 PM
Have you been stealing from town people or killing things you shouldn't? If you are being attacked on sight it sounds like you've amassed quite a large price.

If you have your weapons out try putting them away and see if that makes the people 'less' hostile. Maybe the guards will let you pay it off at that point or just put you in prison.
---
I am a believer in nothing. Nothing actually exists. Nothing rules my life. I live and I will die for nothing.
#3Shadowwolf347Posted 12/14/2011 11:11:44 PM
Did you kill a chicken by chance? Anyways, run up to a guard with your weapon drawn and then sheath it by pressing square. That should cause them to bring up a dialouge where you can pay off your bounty or go to jail. If that doesn't work, try going back to a previous save.
---
"You left your powers to your son so he could fight... a chicken, Sieg?" - Routier, RoAWZ
#4Psychic_Bucket(Topic Creator)Posted 12/14/2011 11:13:51 PM
No I never attacked or stole anything while inside the town, nor did I have my weapons out. I'm newbie at this game, but I know better than to do that.