Does it matter how you train?

#13pikDAMOPosted 11/22/2012 8:45:22 AM
I'm new to the game and trying to figure out the crystarium system. It seems free-er than XIII, with many similarities, which's nice. What I'm wondering is, is it possible to miss any abilities or stats or can you just train up however you like?
#2Drake_GodPosted 11/22/2012 10:04:17 AM
Serah and Noel:
There are suggested 'optimal' builds. Like only using commando and ravager for large nodes.
And some jobs give different boosts depending on whether or not you are even-levelled in that job. So you can keep that in mind to get a stat as big as possible (like magic for Serah and Str for Noel)
The Chrystarium is big enough to get lv99 in all 6 jobs.
I suggest following the crystarium progression guide. It's simple enough, but really you can do whatever you want without missing anything. (it's possible that with a bad build you wont be able to beat the 2 strongest DLC enemies. Haven't tried them yet. I just trained them like I wanted and they turned out fine)

Monsters:
An entirely different ball game. the materials you use can be VERY important, at least in post-game. But potent materials usually do the trick for pre-game. Or whatever you want to give them.
There are also some secrets as to what materials to use where. But you dont really need to worry bout that till you go after those final 2 DLC.
They also don't have enough levels to choose all the possible class bonuses and atb boosts, so you'll miss out a bit.
#3EdalborezPosted 11/22/2012 10:19:05 AM
Here's the simple version for Noel/Serah's crystarium:

The role you choose to level up does not really affect your stat growth for that "level". All of the nodes have preset bonuses and you're basically only choosing a specific role to level because you want an ability for that role. Thus when you are out of abilities to learn, continuing to level the role will not make you "better" at it.