This game is too off-putting for noobs.

#1Dr WhoopassPosted 4/17/2012 7:39:24 PM
I've been playing fighting games for 20 years, but I am not a combo machine. This game makes me beg for a combo breaker. No movelists, no decent training or character challenges, and no combo breakers makes it impossible to learn. I learn nothing when a Painwheel annihilates me with endless combos online.

Then I try Painwheel in story, and my first opponent is Peacock. THIS IS IMPOSSIBLE FOR A NOOB. I cannot get through the bullet hell no matter what I do. Again, I learn nothing because I am just stomped. I will never beat the Story with Parasoul or Painwheel, so I will never get to see Valentine's story.

I understand they made this to cater to the hardcore, but there should not be a massive barrier to entry for rookies. Sink or swim is just too brutal for those of us with little free time.
---
XBL: Bitter Kevin
#2adept89Posted 4/17/2012 7:41:51 PM(edited)
Try getting in with Flight and abusing 236LP+MP. Low hits like c.MK into c.HK seem to work well too. Also, you do have a very useful command grab with decent range.

If all else fails you could look up Valentine's story on Youtube.
---
Heavypress.
Troopers should deal fall damage to the ground. - Voidgolem
#3Dr Whoopass(Topic Creator)Posted 4/17/2012 7:43:09 PM
If I lower the difficulty, will it still unlock? I usually don't give up so easily but I am so enraged I may never play this again. :(
---
#4adept89Posted 4/17/2012 7:45:39 PM
Dr Whoopass posted...
If I lower the difficulty, will it still unlock? I usually don't give up so easily but I am so enraged I may never play this again. :(

I believe so. Also, this game's AI is psychic at times. Its hit-confirms are well-executed and it's easy for Peacock or Double to faceroll human players of low to moderate skill. I also don't feel that Painwheel was intended to be played solo, so there's that too.
---
Heavypress.
Troopers should deal fall damage to the ground. - Voidgolem