Thoughts on the story for AC3

#1FetulovesACPosted 1/23/2013 2:54:14 PM
I'm a novel writer, among other things, and one of the things that has always attracted me to the AC franchise has been the high quality of story telling (specifically historical story-telling) I saw. I honestly had never wanted to play video games until seeing AC1 played.

I got to talking with other novel-writing friends to figure out why this game fell so flat and I think I've hit on it. It's two very basic things in storytelling and consistency.

First off, AC has NEVER been afraid to name bad guys for our hero to face off again. Various historical characters have been stretched to historical limits, but they became villains for this series (not that the Borgias were that much of a stretch, I know). This is a game of Good Guys vs Bad Guys.

In AC3, Ubisoft would not plainly state Bad Guys. They tried to paint historical characters in shades of grey, as they never have before. Thus, this game doesn't feel like part of the same series, even though the mechanics are essentially the same. I don't know if they were afraid of offending people with such statements in American history or what, but they failed in this basic story telling necessity. (As a writer, if I couldn't do it, I would've opted for another historical time period where I was comfortable. Consistency is mandatory in a series.)

Secondly, and this ties into the first, Connor is not the HERO of AC3 the same way that Altair and Ezio was. It has nothing to do with personality. You get the feeling after playing Ezio that he is noted at least in local history and definitely in Assassin history. That his presence made a big difference in anything he had his hands on. Altair is legendary in Ezio's time. Ezio is noted in Connor's. Yet there is no sense that what Connor is doing makes a whit of difference in the scheme of anyone's history or memory.