Good character to start out with?

#1DlaisPosted 1/11/2013 3:51:37 PM(edited)
I started playing like two weeks ago and decided to play Akuma. But practicing with him can be really frustrating since there's very little room for mistakes.

So I started thinking if I should pick a good allround character just to get the basics down and switch back to Akuma later when I feel a bit more confident.

Some characters I like are Cody, Makoto, Dudley, Yun and Honda. But most of the people I've talked to so far suggested Ryu. The only problem with that is the fact that I think that the shotos (Akuma aside) are kinda uninteresting.

So are there alternatives to Ryu (maybe one of the characters I listed?) or is he really the perfect beginner character?

Thanks in advance.

PS: Or should I just man up and stick with Akuma instead?
#2The_DARK_FoXPosted 1/11/2013 3:56:23 PM
Of the characters you chose? Go with Cody. Someone else? Try Cammy or Sagat.
---
I was once a scuba diver in a sea of words, now I zip along the surface like a guy on a jet ski. - Nicholas Carr
PSN: ChaosxPaladin
#3Patriarch105Posted 1/11/2013 5:07:16 PM
Akuma is one of the most difficult characters to master along with Gen. And unfortunitly most people who pick him just like to run away with fireballs.
---
Please say WHY you added me if you do add me or I will ignore you. PSN: Stryker105
#4datdudeMcCoyPosted 1/11/2013 5:28:43 PM
rule out honda if youre on pad
---
sf4-honda/p4a-aigis
WHO DEY!!!!!!!
#5bend6000Posted 1/11/2013 5:53:48 PM
I've been told that Ryu, Ken, Balrog, and Adon are the easiest characters to learn.
---
*Proud follower of Jesus Christ*
#6datdudeMcCoyPosted 1/11/2013 5:59:12 PM
ive been using adon for a week or so
he hits me as a good but 'easy to teach new players bad habits' character

first you shoud have a solid grip on spacing and techbait game, and execution at least good enough to nail 2-framers and IAJK
---
sf4-honda/p4a-aigis
WHO DEY!!!!!!!