Why do people keep comparing the Wii U to Sony and Microsoft?

#1AngurvadalPosted 6/8/2011 6:04:51 AM
It just seems odd. Nintendo has stood on their own for the past 3 generations (N64, GameCube, Wii); while Sony and Microsoft have been in direct competition with each other this generation, Nintendo did what it always does - provide fun games and a new way to play. The most laughable thing about the presentation is how they talked about how they wanted their new console to appeal to casuals and hardcore - which they've already been doing for years.

To me, the Wii U has no competition from Sony and Microsoft. I've been purchasing Nintendo products for 25 years and haven't been let down yet. I'm sure the Wii U will be just as successful if Nintendo continues to deliver imaginative games and new, creative ways to play.

The primary reason to purchase N64, GameCube, and Wii has been to play fun, imaginative Nintendo games. Why are people treating this console differently? Nintendo didn't compare themselves to Sony and Microsoft at the conference; they just said they wanted to make a console that would appeal to a large variety of gamers - which is something they've already been doing for a long time.
---
This message from an unbiased PC gamer.
Don't trust the fanboys.
#2MordeusPosted 6/8/2011 6:11:53 AM
Who was competing against Sony back with the PS1 then? Cause Microsoft wasn't in the Console business then.

The Wii U's third party support isn't necessarily to rival Sony and Microsoft, but to appeal to the gamers from the NES, SNES, slightly N64 and GC eras that begged Nintendo for more 3rd party support.
#3wario58Posted 6/8/2011 6:14:05 AM
Mordeus posted...
Who was competing against Sony back with the PS1 then? Cause Microsoft wasn't in the Console business then.

Have you already forgotten about SEGA? :O
---
PSN Name: Medulan
#4EtoRangerPosted 6/8/2011 6:14:27 AM
Mordeus posted...
Who was competing against Sony back with the PS1 then?

Sega with the Sega Saturn?