How do manufacturers like Sony/Nintendo/Microsoft lose money?

#1ZombieAkanePosted 10/10/2012 9:37:45 AM
Especially so many years after releasing their consoles?

I'm a complete noob when it comes to system wars, but I just read that Sony was bleeding a few months back.

What I don't understand is, they already made launch? They already paid for the hardware development, they're just selling consoles now at a markup price.

Am I missing something?

I don't see how either of the big 3 can be a failure or lose money if they sell more than 2 million units. That should be a lot of profit right there yeah?
---
i5 2500k@4ghz | MSI Radeon 6990 | 8GB DDR3 | Antec Dark Fleet DF-10 | Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
#2mario_gamerPosted 10/10/2012 9:38:37 AM
They sell consoles at a loss...
---
http://i62.photobucket.com/albums/h96/jjj1ddd2sss3/sig2.jpg
#3FoppePosted 10/10/2012 9:39:31 AM
Nintendo is the only company that earn money for each sold unit.
---
GameFAQs isn't going to be merged in with GameSpot or any other site. We're not going to strip out the soul of the site. -CJayC
#4ZombieAkane(Topic Creator)Posted 10/10/2012 9:42:05 AM
Foppe posted...

Huh? How the **** does that work?
---
i5 2500k@4ghz | MSI Radeon 6990 | 8GB DDR3 | Antec Dark Fleet DF-10 | Gigabyte Z68AP-D3
#5rudgerlightPosted 10/10/2012 9:42:44 AM
Microsoft and Sony sold their consoles at a loss. This meant that every time a piece of hardware was bought, they actually lost money. This was true for both of them until earlier this year (I believe). Nintendo on the other hand only sold the Wii at profit - though they were forced by their own bad decisions to sell the 3DS at a loss (which hasn't been true since August).