does anyone use an external hard drive with their wii u?

#11RahzarXPosted 12/5/2012 3:49:21 PM
meiyuki posted...
RahzarX posted...
meiyuki posted...
Yeah you need a y-cable if you don't have a power source, it works fine once you get the cable though, and they're only like $5.

What?

You don't need that. Just plug it in and go.

if you've got a hard drive with no power source and one usb plug working then you have one of a tiny select few that work on a single usb. Most hard drives can't get enough power from one port to do read/write operations.

What year did you come from!?

I've been using a single USB port external HDD for 3 years now.

Do you happen to have a really old HDD?
---
whythefat "DDR, I notice your karma is 567. That 5+6+7= 18. 18 plus your IQ is 19. There were 19 hijackers on 911. You are a terrorist."
#12RE4_FanPosted 12/5/2012 3:51:58 PM
I've got an old 320GB HDD that came with a Y-Cable and still works on a single USB (as in, a USB cable with only one connector on it) the only time it ever struggled to get enough power was on my old PC, but that had dodgy USB ports =P

Even so, I still had my Y cable so I used that to connect my HD to the Wii U =)
#13meiyukiPosted 12/5/2012 3:52:08 PM
RahzarX posted...

Look at what forum you're on, now think about what I could possibly be talking about.

You havn't been using an external HD on the wii U for 3 years. Now stop and think about my posts again.
#14joshua593210Posted 12/5/2012 3:53:07 PM
1TB hard drive.
#15TCaC04Posted 12/5/2012 3:56:38 PM
1TB HDD with a Y-cable.
---
FC(s)/PSN ID in quote
#16RahzarXPosted 12/5/2012 3:57:25 PM
meiyuki posted...
RahzarX posted...

Look at what forum you're on, now think about what I could possibly be talking about.

You havn't been using an external HD on the wii U for 3 years. Now stop and think about my posts again.

My ignorance is the best.