Nintendo fans, help me decide if wii u is for me

#1VoelgerPosted 1/29/2013 7:02:22 PM
Hello all, I am a 32 year old teacher who has always loved video games. I have Xbox 360 (I loved it), but for around two years I haven't touched it.

I also have a gaming laptop, which I love.

I will be honest, I was not interested in the wii u at all. I never owned a wii, the last Nintendo console I owned was GameCube- I loved the Zelda, metroid, and the resident evil games on that system.

I recently am finding myself more interested in the wii u because of its feature that you can play its games on the gamepad, and not on the tv. I live in a small house and one major reason I never play games anymore is because my wife or son are watching tv. I could go in another room but it would be much easier for me to be mobile.

I bought a vita for this, but there are few games.

How well does the gamepad work?
Is it worth it to play the hd games on the small pad? Does it still look good?
---
Mythlogic-Pollux 1612, Clevo P150em, i7-3720QM, 2GB GTX 680m, 16g DDR3, 128 MSata drive, 750 7200rpm HDD
PowerFAQs 1.10
#2laxnd23Posted 1/29/2013 7:05:43 PM
Well here's how I always go about buying a system. First, are there more than 3 games on the system that you would buy now? If not, don't get it now. Second, what's the potential of the system? Is it going to get good games in the future and is there a general idea of when those games will come? If so, then get it.

Personally, I wouldn't get a Wii U now. I plan to get it 4 months from now around my birthday because at that time, it'll have Monster Hunter on it and can justify the purchase at that time because of Zombie U and Monster Hunter, plus titles like Trine 2.
---
xbox gamertag: lonewolfnd 3DS Friend Code: 3136-6624-4823 Official XboxLover of the KDF
#3ShroomsLSDPosted 1/29/2013 7:06:35 PM
The Wii U sounds terrific for what you're looking for. But there isn't exactly a plethora of games available as of yet.