What I would've done differently with the Wii U

#1Warmonger222Posted 2/9/2013 7:01:27 PM
To start this topic off, I would like to say that I own a Wii U and love it, and have recommended it to friends (left the gamepad charger at friends house, so unfortunately cant play it right now) and even convinced one of my friends (that doesnt like nintendo much, to boot) to get one. Nintendo corrected tons of issues from the Wii and I look forward to the future of the console. That being said, I think they made some terrible choices with the console, and I'm going to list off what I would've done differently. I'm not a professional on this, so don't flame me like I'm saying the console is terrible and would make a terrible hardware developer. Lets get started.

1. Make Nintendo Network better
Nintendo took some major steps in improving their online from the Wii, but with how bad it was, thats not saying much. The console is missing party chat, cross game chat, and join game. I know the online can be improved through updates, but it should have had all of these features at launch, especcially since it essentially had a cheat sheet with the other consoles. And another minor complaint is that pretty much all account based features are on the miiverse, making the friends list virtually useless. Honestly, Nintendo Network as it is now should've been the Wii's online system (although obviously it would have to be retconned a bit)

2. Achievement System
I'm sure you're scoffing already, but hear me out. While I don't care much for achievements, I think that when done right they can add to a game. The achievement system I have in mind would basically be like in Brawl or Kid Icarus, but unified to the system, prehaps giving system wide rewards as well as ingame, and also contributing to some sort of score. There is also a topic about a really neat achievement sytem here: http://www.gamefaqs.com/boards/631516-wii-u/65396085

3. Start development earlier