Will the Wii U win this generation?

#1ZeoDefenderPosted 2/23/2013 8:31:32 AM
With the announcement of the PS4 with its uber technology, I'm getting very, very similar vibes to the 3DS and Vita or even the Wii and PS3. Sony (and Microsoft) aims for a core audience that cares about high end technology and wants to see games that really push the envelope graphically. Now this isn't a slam against Sony -- The PS3 had some amazing games and I have no doubt that the PS4 will be a great console to own if you're in the targeted demographic. The problem for Sony is that most gamers are not the type to squee over 8GB of RAM. Most gamers, even core gamers, just want to have a fun time playing a game. That's where the Wii U comes in.

Nintendo is more interested in giving you a unique gaming experience (for less than the price of a new car) with their tablet controller. I've been playing games for over 20 years and I've seen damn near everything, so that's why I want the Wii U so badly. The announced PS4 games look (and by look I mean gameplay-wise not graphically) pretty good, but kinda generic. I want something new. Nintendo Land (and others sure to follow) gives me that fresh new car smell.

I think that the PS4 and 720 sales will be fairly good, but fail to reach out to gamers beyond the core demographic that bought the PS3 and 360. The Wii U on the other hand, as soon as it gets some killer apps, will take everyone else yet again. All three systems will most likely sell less than their predecessors, but I think the Wii U will do the best.
---
"You know, just once I'd like to meet an alien menace that wasn't immune to bullets." - The Brigadier
#2HungtotheoverPosted 2/23/2013 8:34:00 AM
The Wii U is going to win the 7.5 gen. Zing oh!
---
Zing Oh!!!
#3CorruptedRPGPosted 2/23/2013 8:37:46 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3SX3JnUhTaE
#4DifferentialEquationPosted 2/23/2013 8:40:47 AM