I'm just wondering, since people feel the marketing is poor...

#1CharskiPosted 5/2/2013 3:17:20 PM
How would you have advertised the Wii U? I agree that the marketing and advertising for the Wii U is lacking something, but I'll admit advertising the Wii U on Wii isn't too bad of an idea, but the general people feel its still desperate.

So, if you had to handle marketing, what would you have done different? Remember, you can't change anything about what is given. You're marketing the Wii U now and it's current games.
#2Fusion916Posted 5/2/2013 3:23:11 PM
The issue isn't the marketing, its the console itself.
---
PSN: Fusion916
#3trenkenPosted 5/2/2013 3:28:53 PM(edited)
The issue IS marketing. Ive been working in marketing professionally since 1999.

A) Drop the name Wii. The average consumer is not on message boards or anywhere else reading bullet points about what's different about this thing. All they know is they already own a Wii and feel no need to spend $350 on another one.

B) Really should have gotten away from the motion controls. That is tying it back to the Wii, and Nintendo is trying to milk something that so many people have already had their fill of. They tried this with the GBA, and what happened? Was replaced just 3 years later when sales were much lower than expected, with something very different, the DS. Wii = Gameboy, U = GBA, next original console = DS.

C) More TV advertising focused on how this isnt just another Wii (which I guess it is anyway). Ive seen one commercial only maybe a couple times on TV. Needs to show up during sporting events, NBA playoffs, American Idol. They arent putting enough money behind this thing.