What is a "REAL" gamer?

#1KHfan67789Posted 9/10/2013 1:33:34 PM
I was having a discussion the other day with a friend about - what else? - video games. And the game I was playing at the time was Pikmin 3, which I thought was a very good game. I was explaining to him the premise of it because he doesn't own a WiiU and wanted to know if the third installment was any good. I was just in the middle of explaining the fruit gathering gimmick of the game when some dingleberry walks by and says, "Oh god, it sounds like you're talking about a video game," to which I reply, "Yes. I'm explaining to him about Pikmin 3. Have you played it?"

"No way, man. That's not a real game. And you're not a real gamer if you think that's gaming. No blood, no guts, no glory."

Now, I have been playing video games since I was 3 years old. I'm 21 now. The first video game I ever played was Super Mario Bros. for the NES. I like all range of genres from shooters to platformers to RPGs you name it. My favorite video game series is Kingdom Hearts. I thought the Last of Us is GotY material. I enjoyed Final Fantasy VII, though it is the only FF game I've played and plan to play. I don't like Halo, I tolerate CoD, though mainly I suck hard at shooters. Mario will always have a soft spot in my heart, and I can openly admit I am a Sonic fanboy. Though I will fight tooth and nail that '06 ever existed.