What happend to developers being innovative?

#1HackoDisPosted 11/24/2013 12:55:23 AM
It seems to me game play has become all about the graphics. Was just reading an article saying so many companies don't want to develop for the wii u because of the hardware. I think it looks like a fantastic system, it has backwards compatibility which is a big plus for me. I wish developers would be more innovative and come up with some neat ideas for games. I can think of a few ideas for some games but sadly i'm not a developer.
#2Snow-DustPosted 11/24/2013 1:11:19 AM
I know what you mean, sadly the only innovation these days are from Indie games
#3UponADarkThornePosted 11/24/2013 1:27:52 AM
I'll be honest. I don't think very many gamers really want innovation and at this point without doing something that's sort of obscure, I don't think its necessary for the industry to prosper. What would you rather play; a game that did something new but did so with mixed results or a game that is like an old favorite, but polished to perfection? I know I'd want the later.

The real issue with these expensive, AAA productions isn't that they lack innovation; its that some of them lack quality. Many titles aren't inherently bad but have been done, better, in the past and only have their visuals going for them.
---
3DS Friend Code: 2680-9395-3914; NNID: MisterNoOne
Friend Safari (Dragon): Fraxure, Noibat, Sliggoo
#4CHAINMAILLEKIDPosted 11/24/2013 1:32:09 AM
Games are too expensive, and are published across too many platforms.

Thats really all there is too it.

I expect an upheaval this gen.
---
NS_CHAIN 2666-2862-7656
#5mario_potPosted 11/24/2013 1:35:35 AM