What's the deal with using sales in discussion?

#1CharskiPosted 11/25/2013 12:33:41 AM
If you're into playing the stock market I guess that'd be fine, but in general game discussion? I have little to no knowledge of how the industry work, and I'm okay with that. The Wii U is still an enjoyable console, but I don't see why you should be bothered if its selling or not. I still like the Vita, even when it's not selling well. I still love the Dreamcast, even after it was discontinued. The GameCube was also fun to play, but it had low sales still. Does low sales make it a bad console? Not really. I believe it had some of Nintendo's best games on there, like Metroid Prime, Smash Bros. Melee, and Eternal Darkness.

I'm probably going to get myself a new one for this, or that someone is going to call me a fanboy or something, but when you like a game or a console that's okay. A company's concerns shouldn't be your concerns, only if you're somehow involved in the market. I just don't see why some people will flip out or go completely agitated when it comes to sales or the market.
#2ChipChippersonPosted 11/25/2013 12:36:51 AM
My interest in sales only goes as far as hoping it sells well enough to continue being supported. Anything other than that is just a peeing contest.
---
We got no food, no jobs... our PETS' HEADS ARE FALLING OFF!
#3NovaLevossidaPosted 11/25/2013 12:42:11 AM
Sales directly affect a lot of categories including how many people are playing online in your online titles and also how much third party support you can expect.
---
I think the launch of other video game systems is also good for us - Iwata of Nintendo
the playstation 2 sure helped dreamcast - magemaximus
#4nestankPosted 11/25/2013 12:48:31 AM
They are just losers.

They are failures in life so they have to feel like they are winning by beating video games, and by acting like there chosen company is winning.

Yet in the real world they are average losers....