Bought WW HD but can't play it...

#1abear90Posted 4/21/2014 5:39:30 PM
I very recently acquired a Wii U and Super Mario 3D World (which has been very enjoyable), and Wind Waker is one of my favorite games of all time, so naturally, a couple of days ago I went out and bought WWHD.

I do not own a TV (a display with built-in speakers). I own several computer monitors, none of which have speakers, and I do all of my gaming on a sizable LED monitor. I have external PC speakers I usually run audio to. I play PS3, 360, and PS4 using this very setup with 0 problems. When I started playing SM3DW, I noticed that there was no way to send any kind of a split audio signal out of the Wii U at all, which for my setup I absolutely need, because using HDMI straight to my monitor results in picture but not sound. But, I discovered that the headphone jack on the GamePad was outputting the full game audio for SM3DW, and I was able to use that to play and hear SM3DW.

I started playing WWHD thinking it would work exactly the same way. I started up the game, made a new file, and watched the opening story, video and audio working correctly. As soon as the game jumped to Outset Island, though, all of a sudden I lost my audio. I thought at first the game had glitched; I actually saved the game and restarted the console, thinking it would fix itself. Still no audio out of the gamepad headphone port.

For fun, I tried switching the game to display fully on the gamepad, and, all of a sudden, as soon as it switched over, I had game audio again.

Okay, so I just got lucky with Mario, it looks like. I opened up the Zelda options menu looking for a way to choose what audio to send to the GamePad. No options at all.

That leaves me with A) Play the game entirely on the GamePad, in 480p and lose all of the benefits of having the extra screen for inventory, etc, but have audio. Or B) I can play in 1080p on my monitor and use the gamepad for inventory, etc, but have no audio.