The trueskill system doesn't seem to work very well for me?

#1PoopyMcPoopsterPosted 12/30/2012 9:05:38 AM
I just started playing this game last night. I played for a couple of hours and now I'm up to SR15, but I'm playing people who are SR130 (I thought it was supposed to cap out at SR50). I've played every main Halo game for probably 400+ hours (except Reach which I stopped around 50 probably), so I'm pretty good with the mechanics, but I haven't touched a Halo game in over a year.

The first several games I destroyed, but it seems the trueskill system completely flipped and is now putting me against people way above my level. Luckily I've been put on good teams and have won many, but I contribute very little and have gone negative the past 4-5 games (out of a total of like 16 games). I don't know how trueskill is determined, but even if it thinks that I'm at the same level as these people, someone who has put in 200+ hours already will obviously know the maps and best strategies better.

How long will it take for ranking to normalize? This is the same thing that happened to me with Reach and why I stopped playing early...it felt like the ranking system was significantly worse than previous Halo games.
---
GT: Adamantus
#2SierraReiPosted 12/30/2012 9:09:18 AM(edited)
PoopyMcPoopster posted...
(I thought it was supposed to cap out at SR50)

Nope, the cap is 130 - unless you're one of us plebs that didn't play the game before November 20, in which case you're stuck with a cap of 70 until 343 removes their fingers from their collective rectums.

...boy that came out kinda ranty.

Edit for on-topic: I was under the impression that Trueskill wasn't prone to sudden jumps in either direction - although it's been a good while since I read up on the algorithm.
#3PoopyMcPoopster(Topic Creator)Posted 12/30/2012 9:11:52 AM