The problem with TP's overworld and some recommendations going forward

#1biohazard151Posted 1/24/2014 11:31:40 AM
So i started playing TP again after a long hiatus, and one of the biggest disappointments for me had always been the overworld. It seemed to offer so much promise (a gigantic OoT world with more to do!) but in effect, it came out as much less than i had hoped. However, there is good news and bad too that, and i wanted to address what i feel are its primary flaws

1) Hallways and travel

I used to years ago feel like although I knew TP's overworld was better than OoT's, for some reason i always preferred the latter. I had no idea why, but going back one of the main reasons is hallways. It's an overworld that is large, much larger than Oot before it, but it is burdened by an overworld too populated with hallways. Here is what i mean:

http://polito.imgur.com/all/

As you can see the world itself has a number of small self-contained fields in the same vein that we saw of the only main field in OoT, Hyrule Field. But, the world is segemented vastly by a number of very linear and very plain hallways built into the overworld to transition from one area to another. Ofte time there is early on in the game only one way to get to an area, and as the game expans perhaps one or two more, but even these paths are usually quite narrows.

Now this has been a problem when comparing 3d to 2d zelda, for the most part. But i believe the primary problem is that TP felt small and boring partly because each area was too self-contained and seperated by what felt were designed hallways to traverse through, nothing felt like it was nearly as explorable because you were being funneled from A to B. Even though OoT was far smaller, it offered less in the way of hallways when traveling, which made it feel larger than it even was.

2) Sparsely populated