Is it just me or is the online a huge step back from GTAIV?

#1Chosen_one_41Posted 1/9/2014 3:55:26 PM
I started playing the online today (I haven't even played the single player past the intro) and I am just stunned by what I am seeing. First I was screwing around with the pistol and when I ran out of ammo I committed suicide by cop and found out that re-spawning doesn't give you ammo. So then after running around for a half hour unsuccessfully looking for weapons lying around I found an ammunation.

I then find out that you have to rank up before you can use any of the fun guns and you have to spend a limited amount of in game money for the guns and ammo. The only way I've seen to get in game money is with real money or those really boring races. So I buy as much pistol ammo as I can and try to rob the place. Turns out you cant aim a weapon indoors or something. I stood in the doorway and killed the clerk and I got absolutely nothing from that. I couldn't take any of the guns or some ammo or even the weapon off the dead guy. And then the cops showed up, I couldn't take cover and they shot through the walls and killed me very quickly.

I liked how in GTAIV there were guns and health littered everywhere for people to pick up for free and people just ran around and did crazy crap. Now you gotta level up before you can have any fun like some MMORPG and have to be careful with your ammo because you have a limited amount of money to spend on ammo.

So is this how it is? You gotta grind/pay micro transactions for ammo now? If any of this crap is in the single player then I will be seriously pissed off but I am sure that is not the case based on the single player reviews I've seen. If I wanted a good open world multiplayer game I probably would have been better off getting saints row. That being said GTAV did come with my console so I didn't really have much of a choice.
---
http://www.backloggery.com/chosen_one_41
Rarity is best pony