Mental preperation for Tournaments? *hint of blogfaqs*

#1SolidAbyssPosted 2/20/2013 1:15:50 AM
So my scene is doing a Rambat for a sponsorship to EVO. I never been to EVO since I'm new to fighting games, so obviously I wanna go.

But I've only been able to go a few tournaments. I don't have the proper mindset when I'm in one I believe. I can play very well in casuals but I tend to get nervous or disappointed in myself when I am in one. I've been to a few SNS at southtown arcade, been to hadocon, and been to a few local tournaments. But this is one that I feel like I MUST win because I really want to win something I care about for once. A chance to go to the big places and meet a lot of cool people. It's not about the money like most other tournaments.

So enough about blogging about my life. I'm looking for tips on how to get ready for a tournament, and how to stay alert in one. Maybe a few tips on stop kicking myself when I do something stupid in tournament setting.
---
PSN: SolidAbyss
3ds friend code: 1204-0001-5868
#2Dragonboy86Posted 2/20/2013 1:35:12 AM
Almost all the prep you need for tournaments happens the day before.

1. Practice your Bnbs. They should be done on instinct. This is to help combat the tournament jitters. If you know your combos by heart, you are less likely to screw them up.

2. Get a good night's sleep. I'm dead serious on this one. 9 Hours is preferable, but 6 is okay. There is a science behind sleep cycles, but for right now, just choose one of the aforementioned hours.

3. Stay hydrated. Staying hydrated throughout the day before the tournament (and during it) will help.

4. Practice against your worst match-ups. If there are certain things that make you cringe, practice against them as much as you can.

When you are actually at the tournament:

1. Gauge the competition. If you're early (and most likely, you will be), play a few casual matches. Sandbag it just a little to gauge what your opponent is capable of.