New to game, need some tips

#1BoWSan22Posted 3/20/2013 4:16:34 PM
So I just recently started playing about 2 weeks ago, so far I'm loving the game. I've had some experience with SF4 and SSF4 in the past, but that was a while ago and i have somewhat forgotten a lot of it. My friend has been helping me nightly playing a ton of matches with me and pointing out what I need to do and such, which has been a ton of help, but I'd like to hear some other advice from different people. So far I have been running Nova/Frank and can't really decide on an anchor. I've tried Doom out as he's the only anchor I actually know what to do with for the most part out of training mode.

My questions are pretty much what anchor would fit best with my team/current skill level. Are there certain things I should be practicing daily in training mode (I.E a training regimen) and stuff like that. I played on XBL (zLBowsan) so feel free to add me.
#2crescignoPosted 3/20/2013 4:19:47 PM
Sigh
---
Chun li/ryu/akuma
Psn:rescigno
#3BoWSan22(Topic Creator)Posted 3/20/2013 4:26:10 PM
Whoops, didn't notice this was PS3...rofl ignore post
---
XBL: zLBowsan
League: Bowsan
#4Dragonboy86Posted 3/20/2013 4:26:12 PM
Doom is a good anchor for that team, but not a good anchor overall IMO, but that's just me.

As for a training regiment, just do this in training mode:

Action - Stand
Guard - Random Guard
Advancing Guard - Random
Crossover Counter - Off
Knockdown Recovery - Random
Air Recovery - Random
Throw Escape - Random
Counterhit - Off

Go through the motions a bit with this setup. You should be able to land your BnBs on reaction. Feel free to make it so that the dummy is also jumping for air-to-air hitconfirms (Nova, Doom, and Frank like air hitconfirms).

My questions to you:

1. How comfortable are you with Doom? I know you said you are good with him, but how good? Do you have a proper BnB with him or are you just spamming projectiles?