Am i ruining some of the fun by restarting if a character dies?

#1M DAMAGEPosted 2/8/2013 12:56:50 AM
Long post ahead, get out now if you dont have the time.

I'm kinda new to the fire emblem series and have only played the GCN one and a gba one. Boy have I been missing out if this game is any indication-- this is one of the best (if not THE best) SRPGs i've ever played.

Anyway, I like a challenge and am no stranger to SRPGs, so i jumped right into hard/classic. After losing a couple units along the way and subsequently restarting the battle to save them from the clutches of death, I began to wonder... am I kind of ruining the game by doing this?

The concept of perma death for units is awesome in many ways. I love that it really makes the battles exciting, cultivates an attachment to your units, and adds a HUGE amount of replayability to the game overall. However, I grow so attached to everyone that I restart whenever I lose one.

Do you think this actually ruins the fun factor in some way? I guess i'm looking for answer from FE veterans, but anyone is welcome to post.
#2jonnovision1Posted 2/8/2013 12:58:13 AM
a lot of people restart on death in classic mode, you're not alone.
---
"Reinforcements? I am the Reinforcements."
PKMN Black FC: 0261 9500 8363
#3alexchernPosted 2/8/2013 12:58:49 AM
Well, I guess it depends. FE veterans actually swing both ways. They'll either reset like crazy to establish a crazy strong army, or they'll see how far they can run without resets in Hector Hard Mode.
---
FC BLACK
4040 5313 0933
#4FF_4everPosted 2/8/2013 12:59:10 AM
No. IMO you are actually having more fun cuz more living pple = more pple to play and more supports = more everything = happpiness
#5ArreiPosted 2/8/2013 12:59:13 AM
Many people do the exact same thing because it's more fun for them to plan their tactics around making sure every single person survives. Do what you want.
#6impossible2beatPosted 2/8/2013 1:01:32 AM