CYOA: Northern Wind

#1C_D_MPosted 5/1/2013 9:39:31 AM
Hey guys. I've been following a few CYOA threads, and I've finally been inspired to make my own. Fair warning: I plan for this to be one of the darker stories, so be ready for that. Big thanks to Osranger and Cheesepower for the inspiration, and my friend Kat for some help with writing/planning.

--------------------------------------------------------------

The country of Valeria. A small northern country, governed by a council of priests, led by Archbishop Saul. The climate is cool, and the winters can be harsh, but the country prospers mining its rich mineral deposits. To the south lies the country of Carcina, ruled by King Paen. The two countries have held an unsteady truce for years, sustained by trade between the two countries: Carcina relies on Valeria for its metal, while Valeria is forced to import large shipments of food during the long winters. Still, the tension between the two countries is fierce, and several times small skirmishes along the border have threatened to erupt into full-blown war.

--------------------------------------------------------------

You are a farmer, from the small Valerian village of Heathside. Today is a special day; not only is today your birthday, but you have finally managed to save up enough money to buy a real weapon. You are preparing to ride into the nearby town of Trine, a small merchant town near the Carcina border. Trine has prospered as a trading post between Carcina and Valeria. It also serves as the regional garrison for the Valerian Holy Knights, the protectors of the weak and champions of Naga.

Before you set off, though, tell me: are you a boy, or a girl? And how did you spend your time on the farm?

(1) Boy
(2) Girl

(A) I worked the fields, harvesting crops (sword, +spd)
(B) I tended the animals, hauling hay and mucking stalls (lance, +def)
(C) I chopped and carried wood (axe, +str)
(D) I spent my time deep in the woods, hunting game (bow, +skill)