Manaketes are kind of impossible in a way you might not have thought about.

#11hereforemnant(Topic Creator)Posted 5/2/2013 5:49:01 PM
Fwahm posted...
The exact same reason their body has severely reduced aging would make their brain last longer too.

So, no.

Why is what keeps their bodies from aging faster what also keeps their brain young? I have no knowledge on what that reason is.
---
They say all good things are bound to come to an end, but why haven't i heard the same about bad things?
#12Starkindler201Posted 5/2/2013 5:49:47 PM
Engel posted...
This is all assuming that Manakete brains function exactly the same as human ones. I admit, there's not much signaling the contrary, but it is possible.

This. Also, long-living or immortal characters are a staple of fantasy (e.g. elves). If you can find a way to justify the lack of an aging process, working around neuroplasticity would be simple by comparison.
#13IlluminaZer0Posted 5/2/2013 5:52:27 PM(edited)
Lost Odyssey isn't a good metric for analyzing Immortality.

Those immortals cannot even keep their grandchildren from hijacking trains. Immortals or no, that's inexcusable. Abandoning their (13 and younger) grandchildren in a massive city alone is a horrific mistake.

And Lost Odyssey doesn't even explore immortality very well at all. The plot frequently forgets that they are immortal for cheap melodrama, and the best parts of the stories (the short-stories) are frequently disjoint from the actual story/setting. (For example: One of Kaim's memories mentions conventional firearms and artillery)

Addendum:

I've never been impressed with the death or adaptability metric argument against immortality at all. Both death and change are inevitable, everyone goes through it, and not even reacts identically to them as well.
---
Official claimant of Mem Aleph for the theoretic cause of promoting Shin Megami Tensei IV of the 3DS.
#14hereforemnant(Topic Creator)Posted 5/2/2013 5:52:32 PM
Osranger posted...